Can I delete and recreate my categories?

Version 3

    Environment:


    Service Desk - All versions

     

     

    Question:

     

    I would like to delete and recreate my Categories in Service Desk. Can this be done?

     

     

    Answer:

     

    If the Category Object has been set to Soft delete, then you can from the front end delete the Categories.

     

    However by doing this the Categories will still exist in the database and so the name of any new categories will need to be unique (not be the same as any others, even if they have been deleted).

     

    You can however rename the Category in the front end to something unique that you wouldn't need to use on any other Category and then go ahead and delete the Category in the front end.

     

    You can after this reuse the first name that you had without any problem by for example either create new Categories manually or import your new Categories.