A change made to a dashboard isn't reflected for some or all users in Web Access (Web Desk or Self Service)

Version 10

    Verified Product Versions

    Service Desk 7.6Service Desk 7.7.xService Desk 7.8.xService Desk 2016.xAsset Manager 2016.xService Desk 2017.x

    Problem:

     

    I have updated a the dashboard that a lot of users are using in Web Access I have republished it to Web Access. Some users are seeing the new dashboard changes, but other users are not. They still see what they saw previously.

     

     

    Answer:

     

    When making changes to the dashboard in console you will need to publish the new version to web access in order for the change to come through to web access. You will need to answer no to the pop up question to make sure that you are keeping the same web access dashboard and not creating a new one.

     

    As long as this has been done, then the new version of the dashboard is published and available to the users. If the user still isn't seeing the new version of the dashboard, this is most likely because they have their own personal version of the system dashboard (caused by amending the dashboard).

     

    Any analyst with relevant privilege can change the dashboard, the changed version will then be saved personally to the user's profile. This will be added in the ui_personalised_dashboard table in the database and will be shown in precedence over the original version.

     

    When you change the original version the user will still have its own personal version of this dashboard and so this is what they will still see.

     

     

    Solution:

     

    You can check which users have a personalised version of a dashboard using the script below.  You can also remove the personal dashboard with the below script below so that they see the dashboard  changes as you have designed them.


    For SD 2016 you can also check this within an query on Module  "User Interface" and Object "Personalised Dashboard". A design Transfer of an example query has been attached to this article. This query also allows you to remove the personalised dashboard.

    2016-03-04_18-43-54.png

     

    The first script will show you a list of all users that has a personalised version of a dashboard and which dashboard this is a version of.

    The second script will just simply show you what you are about to delete to confirm and the third script will delete the personalised version of the dashboard for that user.

     

    Please note to modify the scripts accordingly and to run this on a test system before running in live.

    Make sure to do a recycle of the application pool on the web server once you have run the delete script.

     

    --1. See a list of all users that has a personal version of the dashboard. select T2.tps_name LOGIN_NAME, T2.tps_title USER_TITLE, T3.ui_title DASHBOARD_TITLE from ui_personalised_dashboard T1, tps_user T2, ui_dashboard T3 where T1.ui_dashboard_guid = T3.ui_guid and T1.ui_user_guid = T2.tps_guid order by T2.tps_title 

     

    --2. Confirm what you are about to delete before you run the third script. select * from ui_personalised_dashboard where ui_user_guid in (select tps_guid from tps_user where tps_name = 'LOGIN_NAME') and ui_dashboard_guid in (select ui_guid from ui_dashboard where ui_title = 'DASHBOARD_TITLE') 

     

    --3. Delete the personalised version of the Dashboard for specified user. delete from ui_personalised_dashboard where ui_user_guid in (select tps_guid from tps_user where tps_name = 'LOGIN_NAME') and ui_dashboard_guid in (select ui_guid from ui_dashboard where ui_title = 'DASHBOARD_TITLE') 

     

     

     

    Prevent Users from creating personal dashboards in future:


    To make sure that the users can't create their own version of a dashboard, you can remove the privilege for this.

    --Configuration - Designer - Personalise Dashboard.