Diagnostic logging using Configuration Center

Version 11

    Verified Product Versions

    Service Desk 7.7.xService Desk 7.8.xService Desk 2016.xAsset Manager 2016.xAsset Manager 2017.xService Desk 2017.x

    Setting up Diagnostic Logging


    You set up diagnostic logging in Configuration Center on the relevant Application that you are looking to diagnose on.


    Log in to the relevant Configuration Center

    Find your Configured Applications

    For each of the Applications you will find a "Diagnostics" link.



    Click on the link for the Application you wish to run the diagnostic on.

    For example, if you are logging on to http://<ServerName>/ServiceDesk.WebAccess when you are getting the issue, you would run the diagnostic on the "ServiceDesk.WebAccess" Application.


    Select the relevant loggings that you would like to enable.

    Click OK.


    Logging Levels:

    None - Logging disabled

    Errors - Show only errors

    Warnings - Show only warnings

    Information - Show only informational entries

    All - Show everything




    Diagnostic selection:


    Default logging level - Shows the default logging level On framework / WebAccess Applications, this is not needed. On BrdigeIT it's needed. Switching this on for Framework / WebAccess will NOT automatically switch all logging on.

    Logging level - Authentication - Shows all Authentication passing through Service Desk

    Logging level - Background processing -

    Logging level - Business functions - Shows all Actions taking place

    Logging level - Business logic

    Logging level - Cache refreshes - Show all cache refreshes throughout your Application

    Logging level - Calculation - Shows all your calculations running and their results.

    Logging level - Database access - Show all the access to the database. All select, insert and update scripts run towards the database.

    Logging level - Form selection - Shows the login when selecting which window to show from launching a record, an action or a collection.

    Logging level - Free text search - Show the knowledge search path

    Logging level - HTTP requests - Shows all HTTP requests taking place

    Logging level - Lifecycle processing - Shows which lifecycle is being used

    Logging level - Metadata cache - Shows all the Metadata cache throughout the Application

    Logging level - Metadata lookups -

    Logging level - Objects in context -

    Logging level - Query processing -

    Logging level - Soap messages - Show s all Soap Message throughout the Application.

    Logging level - Transaction processing - Shows all transaction steps taken throughout a lifecycle

    Logging level - Web Service - Show the logs for Web Services

    Logging level - Usage Statistics - Shows the logs for Usage Statistics


    ADDITIONALLY FROM VERSION 2017.3: there is new category available in the Diagnostic for Copy Rules:


    Where are the log files stored?


    Your log files will be stored within the relevant Applications Framework folder.

    The default location for this is: C:\ProgramData\LANDesk\ServiceDesk.




    Launch the relevant Application's folder.

    Within this you will find a folder called: "Logfiles" where all the log files created will be stored.








    Log files for BridgeIT Applications.


    BridgeIT works slightly different when it comes to diagnostics. Instead of seeing all the different diagnostic options, you will only get the Default logging setting.




    Your BridgeIT Application will connect through a Service Desk Framework. To see which one, click on Edit on the BridgeIT Application and in the "LDSD Web Api Url" field, you will see which one.

    Once you have enabled diagnostic on your BridgeIT framework you will need to enable the separate loggings within your Service Desk Framework Application - Diagnostic Logging.


    Any log files created for BridgeIT will be stored in the relevant ServiceDesk.Framework Logfiles folder.