How do I turn on tracing?

Version 5

    Sometimes, other more immediate troubleshooting steps are not enough to identify or resolve a problem you may be experiencing in Xtraction.  If deemed necessary, Xtraction support may request that you turn on tracing and then send them a copy of the resulting trace file.  The following are the steps for working with trace files in Xtraction.

     

    Turning tracing on or off will cause Xtraction to restart.  While this is a momentary outage and may not affect anyone, there is the possibility for users to receive error messages and/or possibly lose unsaved work.  While only momentary, it is considered an outage as the application stops and restarts.

    Turn on tracing

    1. On the Xtraction server, locate the Xtraction Software\Xtraction\Web\Server folder
    2. Open the web.config file in notepad or another text editor
    3. If a line already exists for the key "TracingEnabled", then set the value to "TRUE" and save the file

    Add a "TracingEnabled" line

    1. If a line for the key "Tracing Enabled" does not exist, create one
    2. Find the line "<appSettings />"
    3. Replace the line with the following and save the file

    <appSettings>

        <add key="TracingEnabled" value="False" />

    Xtr-Trace-True-WebConfig.png

    Run Xtraction

    1. Log into the Xtraction web application
    2. Load the dashboard or document being tested

    Turn off tracing

    1. Change the "Tracing Enabled" line by setting the "value" to "FALSE" in the web.config file.
    2. Save the file
    It is important to turn tracing off after you are finished collecting the debugging data.  If you leave tracing on, the resulting trace file will quickly grow in size.

    Send the trace file

    1. After turning off the trace logging, send the resulting trace file to the support staff that requested the tracing.
    2. The log file is named "Trace.log" and is located in the Xtraction Software\Xtraction\Data\Log folder
    3. Finally, rename or delete the "Trace.log" file so that the next time you need to turn on tracing, it starts as a new file.