Locking a Module in Service Desk - The basics

Version 2

    Verified Product Versions

    LANDESK Service Desk 2016.xLANDESK Asset Central 2016.x

    From Service Desk 2016 you are now able to lock your Modules.

    Locking a Module will limit the design that can be done on the Modules and it will also enable you to share your Module with other users, using Designer Transfer.

     

    Every Module in Service Desk will now have its own identification.

    When you share a Module with another user, they will import the Module with the same identification as the original Module.

    If the Owner creates design updates to the existing Module, they can share the updated version to the receiver, who can then import the new version and such update the current Module in their system to "version 2".

    A receiver can only receive updates if the Module hasn't been unlocked in the receivers database.

     

    If the receiver of the Module would chose to unlock a Module, the identification of the Module will change and the receiver will become the Owner of that new identified Module.

    Bare in mind that if the identification of the Module has changed, the receiver can no longer receiver any updates from the Publisher and it would no longer match with the Modules identification.

     

     

     

     

    How to lock a Module:

    1. Highlight the relevant Module

    2. In the Action Panel, select "Lock"

    3. Type in relevant Passwords and click OK

    4. Save Object Designer

     

    lock.png

     

    Passwords for Locked Modules:

    There are two Passwords that will need to be set when you choose to lock a Module

     

    Publisher:

    The Publisher password is for the Owner of the Module. The person who originally created the Module. This password should never be shared to anyone and only used by the Owner.

    When you lock a Module in order to share the Module, you will need to unlock it should you wish to make further design changes. When you unlock the Module as the Owner, use the Published Password.

    This will make sure that the identification of the Module stays the same so that you can continue to share your design.

     

    Subscriber:

    This is the password you can choose to give to the receiver of the Module. Bare in mind that if the receiver decides to unlock the Module, they will update the identification of the Module and they will no longer be able to receive any further versions on that Module.

     

     

     

     

    Modules that you cannot lock:

    • Lifecycle
    • Metadata Management
    • Email
    • Management Information
    • System
    • User Interface
    • User Management
    • Data Connection Objects

     

     

     

    What you can do in a locked Module:

    • Create Queries in Web Access
    • Add Values to existing Reference Lists, Ordered Lists and Categories
    • Create records within the Module

     

    What you cannot do in a locked Module:

    • User any of the Design Components in Console, such as:
    • Process Designer
    • Query and Report Designer
    • Window Manager
    • Object Designer

     

     

    Locking Process and Child Modules:

    • You can lock the Process Module without affecting any of its Child Modules.
      • If the Process Module is locked you can still create Queries, Windows and Attributes on any Child Module and you can still use any existing attributes from the Process Object.

     

    • You can lock any Child Module to the Process Module individually without affecting the Process Module or any other Child Modules

    You can still crate Queries and Attributes on the Process Module

     





    Importing / Exporting Modules:


    How to Export a Module:

    1. Go to Design Transfer Component and you will find a new folder called "Module"

    lock1.png

    2. Any Module that has been locked will show in the list.

    3. Select the relevant Module and select "Export Module"

    4. You will be prompted to specify the location for your .xml file, then click Save and the Export will take place.

     

    How to Import a Module:

    1. Go to Design Transfer Component and select "Import"
    2. Click to "Open Import File" and select the relevant .xml file
    3. Select to Import the file.

     

    Note that if you already have the Module imported since previous, if the Module has the same identifier, you will update your existing Module.

    If the Module has a different identifier, but the same name as a Module already existing in your database, you will not be able to run the import.

    If no Module with the same identifier or name exist, you will import a new Module into your database.

     

    • You can only export one Module per export.
    • If your Module is linked to any other Module in your database, note that the receiver will need the same Modules in their database in order to import the given Module.