When the user logs off it does not kill anything running as the different user. Even logging on as the other user does not kill the original process.
The process has been launched as if a new user has logged on and therefore logoff messages for the current user will not affect that process (similar to processes launched at computer startup).
The application can be manually stopped.
It is only the automatic stopping of the process during logoff that is affected.