Although users do not have deletion rights they can merge/purge opened records (while they cannot merge tagged records or delete records via the merge/purge wizard)

Version 1

    Details

    Although users do not have deletion rights they  can merge/purge opened records (while they cannot merge tagged records  or delete records via the merge/purge wizard)

    [PRE-REQUISITES]
    Have a non-master user with no delete rights
    1. log in with master rights\
    2. Tools > Users' Settings
    3. Highlight a non-master user > Properties
    4. Access Tab
    5. Un-check the Delete right for the Contact Record section (left top)
    6. OK > Close




    [STEPS TO REPRODUCE]

    1. Log in as the user from pre-requisits
    2. Browse to any record
    3. Window > New Contact Window
    4. Open any other record (this contact record window appears now as active tab)
    5. Tools > Data Management > Merge/Purge Records > Merge Opened Records
    6. Review the upcoming message and confirm with YES





    [RESULT]

    Instead of appearing a similar message as for merging tagged  records "You do not have access to one of more of the records you are  trying to Merge/Purge!" the process will merge the data from the the inactive  record into the  foreground\active contact record and delete the inactive contact record (including all related contact data).





    Resolution

    [CAUSE]
    - This is a known issue and logged as RM # 226249

    - There is no workaround to overcome the behavior, so it should be considered by the GoldMine administrator to remove the menu for merging/purging opened contact records for users without deletion rights.

    [WORKAROUND]
    1. log in with master rights
    2. Tools > Users' Settings (this opens the Users' Master File window)
    3. Highlight the user in question > Properties (also possible via a double click on the user in question)
    4. Menu Tab
    5. Expand Tools
    6. Expand Data Management
    7. Expand Merge/Purge Records
    8. Mark Merge Opened Records... in red
    9. OK > Close








    - Please refer to Online help for further information on setting User Menu restrictions via Help > GoldMine Help > Administration Guide > User Administration > Managing User Security and Access > Users Properties.