When an IPC is assigned to a User and their Group is also specified the assignment notification is sent to all group members. This can also happen if the recipient of a Reminder is specified as the Group and User. Escalation notifications will also adhere to this rule so will behave in the same way as assignments.
This problem only occurs when a User is added to a Group the check-box for 'Recieve Group Messages' is ticked. This is often used when a process automatically assigns to a Group and the members of that group can be notified that new work has arrived. This problem did not occur in the same way in version 7.1.x as the logic behind this was changed in 7.2.
To get around this you need to add a new key in to your tps.config file(s). The file is located at "C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Touchpaper\<Touchpaper.Framework.Web Virtual Directoy name>\tps.config" and many systems have multiple TPS installations to cope with explicit and Integrated logon or sharing load between Portal and Console users. All copies of tps.config should be updated.
The key that needs to be included is:
<add key="AssignmentNotificationsToUserOnly" value="true" />
This should appear somewhere between the <appsettings> and </appsettings> tags.
Note that an IIS reset is require for the changes to apply when nobody is connected to service desk.