When logging in as different users in GoldMine Premium Edition using a customized shortcut, the user account that the shortcut is customized for becomes blocked or locked out.

Version 1

    Details

    When logging in as different users in GoldMine Premium Edition using a customized shortcut, the user account that the shortcut is customized for becomes blocked or locked out.



     


    Resolution

    [CAUSE]
    When a GoldMine Premium Edition application shortcut is customized to automatically populate a username, following related Knowledge Base Article # 12187; Clicking on this shortcut and NOT proceeding to login as the user that the shortcut is customized for will count already as a failed logon attempt. 


    When the option for 'Block the account after 3 invalid logon attempts' is selected in Tools > Configure > System Settings > Password Policy Tab, this can result in a user being blocked when you do not think you have made three attempts. 

    [RESOLUTION]
    When a user wants to login to GoldMine as a user other than who the shortcut is customized for, this should be instead be done from an application shortcut which is not customized at all.
    Typically launching from the Windows Start Button, and then browsing to GoldMine via 'All Programs' will be a good method which will not cause this behavior.