Absolute Service Database Connection Lost (Moved Database)

Version 1

    Details

    PROBLEM
    LiveTime is not able to open a connection to the database because the database has been moved to a new server or IP address.

    ENVIRONMENT
    LiveTime Virtual Appliance (VA)

    RESOLUTION

    Prior to 8.1
    When viewing the LiveTime Virtual Appliance configuration screen, you can use the keys SHIFT+D or Numeric Pad 4 to clear the database settings of LiveTime. This process restarts LiveTime and allows you to re-enter new database information.

    8.1 and Later
    The option to manually delete LiveTime database information is no longer available from the configuration screen, however there is a built-in timeout when connecting to an LiveTime database once LiveTime is started. To proceed, reboot the LiveTime Virtual Appliance and wait approximately three to five minutes. At that time you will be prompted when navigating to the LiveTime website once again to enter the LiveTime database information.

    ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
    In the case of 8.1 and later configurations, the database connection timeout may vary based on a number of factors. Primarily, if the original server that the database was hosted on is still running but the database is no longer present, it will increase the amount of time it requires to timeout and prompt you for new database details. This is because of the server is still reachable by LiveTime, the amount of time it takes to timeout increases due to the server being reachable and that the database connection must be attempted, which takes some time.

    Please be patient while LiveTime restarts and allows you to re-enter database information.


    Resolution

    PROBLEM
    LiveTime is not able to open a connection to the database because the database has been moved to a new server or IP address.

    ENVIRONMENT
    LiveTime Virtual Appliance (VA)

    RESOLUTION

    Prior to 8.1
    When  viewing the LiveTime Virtual Appliance configuration screen, you can  use the keys SHIFT+D or Numeric Pad 4 to clear the database settings of  LiveTime. This process restarts LiveTime and allows you to re-enter new  database information.

    8.1 and Later
    The option to  manually delete LiveTime database information is no longer available  from the configuration screen, however there is a built-in timeout when  connecting to an LiveTime database once LiveTime is started. To proceed,  reboot the LiveTime Virtual Appliance and wait approximately three to  five minutes. At that time you will be prompted when navigating to the  LiveTime website once again to enter the LiveTime database information.

    ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
    In  the case of 8.1 and later configurations, the database connection  timeout may vary based on a number of factors. Primarily, if the  original server that the database was hosted on is still running but the  database is no longer present, it will increase the amount of time it  requires to timeout and prompt you for new database details. This is  because of the server is still reachable by LiveTime, the amount of time  it takes to timeout increases due to the server being reachable and  that the database connection must be attempted, which takes some time.

    Please be patient while LiveTime restarts and allows you to re-enter database information.