Is it possible to remove fields from the main contact layout apart from hiding them by reducing the data/label size?

Version 1

    Details

    Is it possible to remove fields from the main contact layout apart from hiding them by reducing the data/label size?



     


    Resolution

     

    [INFORMATION]
    It is absolutely not recommended not to remove system fields from the main view and when you try you will get a message  



    The fields Contact, Company and Phone1 are never to be deleted also not with the below workaround, there is a message when you are trying to delete those fields 





    [STEPS]

    How to delete so called system fields (for example when accidentally the OWNER field was added to the main view which needs to be removed again)

    1. Right Click on the contact record's view where the Owner field is > Screen Design 
    2. Double click on Owner field 
    3. Button More options
    4. Change Name in Database OWNER to USERDEF04
    5. OK > OK
    6. Now mark the field and Delete > Confirm message that you want to delete this field

    Again it is not recommended to do this but sometimes a GoldMine administrator may have made a mistake by adding a 'wrong' field.  

    Additionally for User defined fields

    User defined fields are identically to be removed as in the steps below but this time only steps
     
    1. Right Click on the contact record's view where the User defined field is > Screen Design 
    2. Mark the field and Delete > Confirm message that you want to delete this field
    Another possibility for deleting user defined and non-system fields is
     
    1. Tools > Configure  > Record Types
    2. Browse to the Primary Field View where the field resides you want to remove (ATTENTION: This cannot be done on the Primary view which is just now in use for the current contact record, if applicable you need to switch primary view on the contact record via right click > Select Primary Fields > select desired view)



    3. On the right upper pane >> Right Click on the User defined field you want to delete > Delete


    4. Confirm the deletion
    5. Verify that the field is gone from the view
     
    Please keep in mind that certain changes in the layout, adding/removing fields to layouts usually require an IIS reset if GMConnect is also in place.