Auto Arrange icons and Align icons to grid setting not captured in Microsoft Windows 10

Version 1

    Problem

    The preferred status between "Auto Arrange icons" and "Align icons to grid" is not captured after a Microsoft Windows 10 session ends, even though the FFlags registry value is captured using RES ONE Workspace.  FFlags holds the data for the Desktop's "Auto Arrange icons" and "Align icons to grid" statuses, which could be on or off for either command.
     

    Cause

    Microsoft Windows 10 holds the changed information for "Auto Arrange icons" and "Align icons to grid" in memory until the current session ends. The writing of this data to the registry occurs after RES ONE Workspace composer finishes its end of session events.

    This problem does not occur in Microsoft Windows 7 where FFlags is modified immediately upon configuring either "Auto Arrange icons" or "Align icons to grid" using the Desktop's context menu.


     

    Solution

    As a workaround, modify FFlags' data through RES ONE Workspace with User Registry, Execute Command, or Applications.  

    To modify FFlags use the registry information below. The data is presented in decimal format. Provided next to the data is what each number represents.

    Key: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Shell\Bags\1\Desktop
    Value: FFlags
    Type: REG_DWORD
    Data:  
    1075839520 (Auto arrange icons = OFF and Align icons to grid = OFF) 
    1075839521 (Auto arrange icons = ON and Align icons to grid = OFF) 
    1075839524 (Auto arrange icons = OFF and Align icons to grid = ON) 
    1075839525 (Auto arrange icons = ON and Align icons to grid = ON)
     
    Note:
    • If using Execute Command, configure the Run Task option for "At logon after other actions", so FFlags won't be over written by previously captured data.
    • In combination with capturing HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Shell\Bags\1\Desktop, FFlags will persist into the next session, so the User Registry configuration or the Execute Command can be set to "Run Once".
    • If the Microsoft Windows session is already started prior to setting the registry data, a fresh logon will be needed in order to experience the effect of the setting.