8 Replies Latest reply on Jun 2, 2010 2:46 AM by Evie

Decision not working

Rookie

Can someone please give me an idea why a Decision isn't working? I'm a newbie and am working on the training guide that we got at a recent training session.  I have built the process but when it gets to the decision it bypasses it.  I have created it 10 times and our Development engineer has gone through as well and we still can't work it out

Thanks

Novice !!!!

• 1. Re: Decision not working
          dmshimself ITSMMVPGroup

Which condition is giving you grief?  If it involevs a boolean, I'd recommend making sure the default value is set in the Object Designer rather than left to chance.

• 2. Re: Decision not working
            Rookie

Hi There

In Objec tDesigner  the DataType is set as a Boolean

When I test it it doesn'task me the question?

• 3. Re: Decision not working
              dmshimself ITSMMVPGroup

Which decision?  A screen shot would help of that bit of the process and the decision you have created.  Did you check to see if the boolean being used has a default value in object designer?

• 4. Re: Decision not working
                Rookie

Hi Dave

Thanks for being patient!!!

I have attached a screen print, It's the Internal Staff condition that is causing the problem.

There is no mention in this excercise, of setting the default value? So i haven't done anything with that.

• 5. Re: Decision not working
                  aparker Employee

Hello both,

Evie, if you don't set the default value in Object Designer, when you run your process and you get to the form that displayes the boolean, if you don't touch the tick box at all, then the database will record the value as Null and not either True or False. To test if this is the case, run your process and tick and then un-tick the boolean, this will set it to be a value of False and the decision should work.