5 Replies Latest reply on May 11, 2011 8:55 AM by ahe

preferred server using a NAS and LDMS 9.0

KrisBultinck Apprentice

I am new to LANDesk and implementing the product for the moment.

We have about 16 large sites and the bandwidth of these sites to the main site with the LANDesk server is already very actively used

Software deployments over the WAN are not an option for daily deployments, bandwidth throttling works very well but the download process cannot take too long or the end user gets a long waiting time.

I think “preferred servers” for all large sites looks like the best solution for me, which brings me to my question.

The domain admin does not like me installing IIS on the already existing server(s) in those sites.
      That would mean I have to set up a “deployment server with IIS” for each affiliate. This cost too much and requires maintenance (updates, etc..).
      I don’t want.

Currently testing with a NAS boxes (Netgear Readynas Duo) that support HTTP and this works in my testing lab. (Cheap storage and no maintenance)

Anyone out there with the same problem and a different solution or anyone that uses NAS boxes as preferred servers and has additional information for me?

Thanks for any feedback.

• 1. Re: preferred server using a NAS and LDMS 9.0
          ProServices

Hello there,

I was just wondering how you got on with your NAS implementation of Preferred Servers. I know your post is nearly a year old, but it was one of the few that deals with this topic.

Regards,

Ian

• 2. Re: preferred server using a NAS and LDMS 9.0
            KrisBultinck Apprentice

Remark:

I don’t like it when a IS system is depending on an end users availability.
            Therefore it is for me not acceptable to put a preferred server on an end users workstation.

It MUST be on a dedicated system from IS, meaning a server/client that is managed by IS and has a maximum availability.

Positive points in working with a NAS boxs: