3 Replies Latest reply on Sep 10, 2010 12:22 PM by Carl.Simpson

Crystal reports Server

Apprentice

I want to promote the use of Crystal reports server and I wonder why there is not much information and advice how to use it with LANDesk.

I have been using it now for a couple of months and find a couple of benefits.

1. I do the "intelligent" connections between tables on the datalevel and when this is done it can be used by many crystal reports

2. I can do the formulas on the same level and they can be used by many crystal reports. When I change a formula ( Ever done that?) it will apply directly to all reports using this level.

3. I set upp 3 dataconnectors to three databas environments ( Dev LANDesk, TEST LANDesk and PRODUCTION LANDesk). I can in runtime choose which database is to be used.  Save me lots of time i testing and verification.

4. Crystal reports can be scheduled and emailed.

5. There is a WEB environment where you can control access to reports to groups or individual users. Either a link from console or from Serviiceportal. The same maintenance regardless from where you access the reports.

I would be very happy if LANdesk would invest in distributing high level datalayers in a ootb fashion in Crystal Reports Server form. Have any thoughts been on this possibility.

A few examples:

First there is the data table connection layer

Data layer.JPG

Out of this data layer You define a data element where You decide which attributes shall be used from the data layer above

Data attributes to be used from the datalayer.JPG

All dependencies and layers are easy visualized:

How the layers and reports are connected.JPG

And one crystal report ( and any other layer)  runned through Crystal Reports server can have multiple dynamic datasources.

Multiple dynamic datasources.JPG

There is more...

Has anybody else experience of using Crystal Reports Server?

• 1. Re: Crystal reports Server
          Rookie

Hi Göran Pettersson,