1 2 Previous Next 18 Replies Latest reply on Jul 14, 2008 10:35 PM by puercomal

Device Disappears from Database After Manual Scan

Apprentice

I thought perhaps i was mistaken when this happened last week, but today i have manually scanned a PC using the LD Console right click menu, and once that was complete the PC disappeared, this has happened a few times recently.  I am an admin user so i have the All Machines scope, we are using 8.7 SP4 with the mini-rollup.

Any ideas what might be causing this and how to fix it?

• 1. Re: Device Disappears from Database After Manual Scan
          phoffmann SupportEmployee

First thing to check would be whether the device is actually still IN the Database.

You do this best by querying the COMPUTER-table. Something like (if the device is called "MyDevice"

""

select * from dbo.COMPUTER where DEVICENAME='MYDEVICE'

""

More advanced method would be to check versus the UniqueID string "DeviceID" in the COMPUTER table.

If it's not there anymore, you likely have a case of multiple computers using one DeviceID, and thus over-writing each other.

Paul Hoffmann

LANDesk EMEA Technical Lead.

• 2. Re: Device Disappears from Database After Manual Scan
            Apprentice

Thanks Paul, I'm one

step ahead of you!

I already had the

appropriate columns showing, so on a hunch I checked in the event log on the

core (as I have enabled event logging for devices that change their Device

Name).

In the event log I saw

the device I was looking for which had changed its device/display name, and the Device ID was there also.  When I

searched using the Device ID in the console, of course, I found a device with a different

display name to the one I was looking for in the above post.  So I then

checked the Inventory History for this device, exported results to Excel,

deleted irrelevant data and I have found that 25 PCs all have the same Device

ID.

I have checked this