8 Replies Latest reply on Feb 11, 2008 9:59 AM by zman

Install of software to remote user via VPN

Rookie

Hi,

I have been using Landesk now for over 6 months. Great software when it works. We have a problem with all VPN home workers. Each time a software package is pushed to the user that is working from home it fails to install via VPN (broadband). We have been told by the Landesk team to reinstall Landesk on these users when this happens. Well it does not work. I find it a big waste of time to do this. If I get the user to come into the office and connect with a network cable the software installs with no problems at all. There has to be some kind of fix for this problem. We have over 150 home workers and they all have this problem. Not all can get into the office they live to far away. It does not matter was software is being pushed to the Laptop, they all fail.  We have no problems connecting to the users Laptops via landesk. It can be slow at times but we connect. User version 8.7 Landesk

• 1. Re: Install of software to remote user via VPN
          Apprentice

What is the message in the result field for the task?

Is there a built in firewall with the VPN software?

• 2. Re: Install of software to remote user via VPN
            mrspike SSMMVPGroup

We have a number of users working from a VPN and I have found the easiest  way (we do not have a Management Gateway) to patch these systems is to use Policies to get these patches out.  The laptops are able to "pull" the patches while connected without issue.

I think by default that the agent is configured to check for policies once a day, so if it is not on the VPN at that time it will fail.  I have mine set to check evr 2 or 3 hours.

James

• 3. Re: Install of software to remote user via VPN
              zman Master