7 Replies Latest reply on Feb 14, 2008 1:50 PM by Jared Barneck

Profile migration between different managed device names

Rookie

How can one migrate a given profile to a managed device who's name is different to the name which the profile was captured on?

I am new to LANDesk so please forgive me if the answer to this question is obvious.

Presume I have a managed device called computerA and I capture the existing profiles on it to the designated network share.

Now suppose I want to restore the profiles that I captured on computerA to a managed device called cumputerB. This will fail.

The way I see it working in the background is that when I schedule the restore script and start the script with computerB as the target device, the LANDesk profile tool looks in the network share for a folder (which contains the sub-folders and .cab files) for a folder by the name of computerB. Of course it will not find this folder. Thus the script will fail. Other than renaming the captured profile's folder to the name of teh target device, is there an efficient way to do this?

Also, what if I only want to migrate one specific profile (like the local administrator) to a new managed device, and not ALL the profiles that were captured on a managed device. How would I do that?

I am using LDMS 8.7 SP4 with TVT

Any help is much appreciated.

Daniel

• 1. Re: Profile migration between different managed device names
          rcronje Apprentice

Just to add to this discussion. I have done an advance edit on a Restore Profile script and have found (what I think is) the culprit:

REMEXEC8=<qt/>%LDMS_CLIENT_DIR%\LDProfile.exe<qt/> /put CABPATH="
          server\Images\sourcemachine\%Computer - Device Name%" DEFAULTPASSWORD="108273666B26006F74B5863743C", STATUS

If my understanding of script processing is correct then the token %Computer - Device Name% will be replaced by the TARGET device's name.

Is this a bug? I don't think %Computer -Device Name% should even be there.