7 Replies Latest reply on Feb 11, 2011 11:23 AM by vhcprophet

Reporting on Patching Status

Rookie

All,

I am relatively new to LanDesk.  I am coming from an SMS and HFNetCheck background for patching software.  I believe I have my head around LanDesk's take on the patching process except for reporting.  I am on LanDesk 9.0.2.3 so I have the new reporting  that was added in the latest SP release.

I have gone through all of the canned reports and I dont see some that meet my specific needs.  One example is that we keep binders for specific clients and in there a report of the servers for that client with the patches that are install on those systems and still required.  Is there an easy way to report on this from LanDesk?  I have seen the report "Deteced Vulnerabilities" and grouped by device.  I see there is an option to group or specify by "Locations" for the AD patch the computer account resides in.  Is there a way to have a custom "Location" group?  Say for example I need to run this report on a select number of systems and dont want but only the systems I need to report on.

Also, how is everyone else reporting and following up on their patching?  If I patch 1000 systems and I have 30 failures, the most efficient way is to go to each and look at the log individually from the console of why it failed?

If I want to just pull a report on say this year's patches of MS11-001 and MS11-002 and show all systems that are missing these patches individually, how could I do that?  I know I could go to each one and do a "affected computers" and try to compile things that way.  I see there is the "Detected Vulberabilities" report where you can choose Locations, Severity and Vulnerabilities, but the vulnerabilities are not all that easy to digest through and no MS numbers are associated and no search option.  So finding out the KB number and scrolling through all of the vulnerabilities to try and match that kb number up really the way to go?  Any help is appreciated!!