4 Replies Latest reply on May 31, 2011 1:53 PM by Catalysttgj

Running script once for each logged on user

Rookie

I am somewhat new to LanDesk but have used SCCM and Altiris in the past.

I am wondering how I can get a VBscript to run once for each logged on user. Something both Altiris and Sccm did seemlessly.

For example, when install office there are certain reg keys I would like to modify in the HKCU hive. I need this to run once for each logged on user no matter if they have a profile on that machine or not.  Any and all help is appreciated.

Tim

• 1. Re: Running script once for each logged on user
          zman Master

Tim,

Welcome. There are many ways to handle this:

1. Create a Required, Run Once Policy and have a user based target (e.g., LDAP user group). This will run once per user per machine. Make sure the distribution package is set to run in the user context.
          2. GPO. Most of the Office user settings can be set ia GPO or custom ADMX file.
          3. Modify the C:\Documents and Settings\Default User\ntuser.dat default user profile. Good for new profiles.
          4. Use Autoscript or other scripting language to run the script against all user profiles on the machine - use in combination with 2. I have autoitscript to do this.
          5. Dump the script locally and place in the "C:\Documents and Settings\Default User\Start Menu\Programs\Startup" group. - hard to control and will run all the time.
          6. Local scheduled task that will run when the user logs in

LocalSch.exe /exe=%ProgramFiles%\LANDesk\LDClient\startasuser.exe" /cmd="c:\scripts\vb.script" /taskid=1001  /freq=600 /toe=logon /user

So I provided a lot of options with the easiest first.  5 is interesting since it does not require a lot of load on the core, is queryable in the inventory, etc... Hope this helps.

Provide bulk client deletions without carpal tunnel syndrome.
          http://community.landesk.com/support/ideas/2293