5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 1, 2011 9:49 AM by Catalysttgj

Query to exclude

Rookie

Hi,

I'm new to LANDesk (LANDesk Management Suite v9.0.2.3). I have been given access to all machines on a particular sub-net.

I have a query to search these machine's:   "Computer"."Software","Add or Remove Programs"."Program"."Name" Like " "

This works and returns about 5,000 instances (essentially all programs installed on all machines).

If I modify the query to only return instances of "service pack" this also works and returns 224 rows:

"Computer"."Software","Add or Remove Programs"."Program"."Name" Like "service pack"

If I invert the query to exclude "service pack" then the query returns zero rows (whereas I would expect it to return 5,000 minus 224 rows):

"Computer"."Software","Add or Remove Programs"."Program"."Name" Not Like "service pack"

Any ideas why please?!

Essentially I want to build a query that I can run weekly, which will search all installed programs, but I want to exclude programs that I don't need licenses for (such as readers, service packs, etc).

Any help greatly appreciated :-)

thanks/Andy

• 1. Re: Query to exclude
          Apprentice

Hi Andy,

If I understand you correctly, you want to create a query to get a list of programs installed on machines without service pack included. If so, did you try creating a query for the programs to be included (all LIKE) by grouping it together (with multiple ORs) and exclude service pack (with NOT LIKE) by keep it out ouf the group with an AND.

Please find the screenshot attched.

I used to do this kinda reports with a SQL query instead of messing around with a big query

- Regis

• 2. Re: Query to exclude
            Rookie

Hi Regis,