9 Replies Latest reply on Jan 6, 2012 12:05 PM by Catalysttgj

Help Administring Windows Firewall

Rookie

Hi Guys,

Im new to administering windows firewall via LANDesk and Ive not successfully changed a host.

What Ive done.

1. Already had an agent pushed out with no firewall settings.

2. Created a new agent and associated a new firewall object with more then 7 inbound exceptions. Two firewall objects where created with XP,Server 2003 or Win7, Server 2008 in mind.

3. I created an advanced agent for the new agent configuration and I did a "schedule update to agent settings". The scheduled task has a status of "Done" and a result of "Not Specified".  I thought that would implement the firewall changes but nope.

4. I then tried to do a "Change Settings" for the firewall object under scheduled task. It completed with status "Done" and result "No Error". But this also did not do anything to the host in question. No changes what so ever.

I did try rebooting the host. The OS is server 2008 x64.

Using LANDesk 9.0.2.3

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Jason

• 1. Re: Help Administring Windows Firewall
          Rookie

This morning I didnt do an update to the agent configuration. I just deployed it as if an agent didnt previously exist. No Change.

I guess Ill try uninstalling and reinstalling the agent next. But I really shouldnt have to do that on all the host that already have an agent. Id just be happy to see something happen for the first time.

• 2. Re: Help Administring Windows Firewall
            Catalysttgj Expert

We've been pretty happy with just poking registry values in for firewall exceptions and what not. That might not be a very elegant thing to do with your environment, but its an option. After poking in values you just have to restart the firewall service to get the new values recognized. We do all this with a custom definition patch.

• 3. Re: Help Administring Windows Firewall
              Rookie