13 Replies Latest reply on Feb 1, 2012 3:36 PM by hadyn.dawson

Process Design - Calculation on Status

Rookie

I'm having some problems creating a calculation to do the following:

If the Problem attached to the Incident is at either  "'Investigating Root Cause Workaround Identified' or 'Root Cause Identified Workaround Identified' then give value as "true" otherwise "false".

This is so that i can include this in a decision in the Incident Process.

I've tried to write the below calculation to do the above but it doesn't seem to work? Im a newbie with calculations if im honest.

import System
      static def GetAttributeValue(Incident):
      Value = 'False'
      if Incident.IncidentProblem.Problem.Status.Title!='Investigating Root Cause Workaround Identified':
        Value='True'
      if Incident.IncidentProblem.Problem.Status.Title!='Root Cause Identified Workaround Identified':
         Value='True'
      return Value

Appologies if its simple school boy error, but im sure the error will jump out at some Landesk Servicedesk  Calculation Guru!

Thanks

Adam

• 1. Re: Process Design - Calculation on Status
          Expert

We don't use Problems but I noticed that you only opened Incident.  I have not worked with 2 different objects (incident and Problem) in the same calculation so this will be a good example when you get a solution.  I suspect this is where your problem is.

• 2. Re: Process Design - Calculation on Status
            Expert

Hi Adam,

As you can have multiple problems associated with an Incident you will likely need to tell it which one you want. In most cases the latest one should prove sufficient, so something like this may work better-

import System
            Value = 'False'

Prob = Incident.IncidentProblem.Problem.Latest()
            if Prob.Status.Title!='Investigating Root Cause Workaround Identified':
              Value='True'
            if Prob.Status.Title!='Root Cause Identified Workaround Identified':