3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 24, 2012 6:25 AM by Reeb

Machines disappearing from Inventory

We have around 900 laptops, however about 80% of our users are remote and almost never connect to our corperate network. We have LDMS 9SP3, a Management Gateway, and the agent has been installed on all the laptops. There are just over 300 machines showing up in inventory. I've just started this job and although I have LANDesk experience I have NO experience with the Management Gateway and with Remote users.

I need to figure out why these machines are not running scans/connecting and what I can do to ensure that these machines will continue to be monitored. Can someone point me in the right direction?

• 1. Re: Machines disappearing from Inventory
          MarXtar ITSMMVPGroup

OK. First, if machines are disappearing you have Inventory set to delete old machines. In the console on the Core, go to Configure - Services, and on the Inventory tab change 'Days to Keep Scans' to 0 to disable this feature. This is a nice feature, but if your agents aren't working, then in your environment you have a major issue.

Second, you need to be working out if your agents are functional via the gateway so you are either going to need to configure a system to test on or get your hands on a device that has gone missing.

Main things to be checking:

• Is the client getting a certificate?
            • For clients to communicate via your gateway brokerconfig.exe needs to be run on them
            • How is this being done? Is it a manual process when you build machines, is it embedded in the client configuration, is it something sent after agent configuration?
          • Test a configured machine and one you configure
            • If you connect it on the internet, is it able to connect if you manually launch an inventory scan?
          • Is the gateway running?
            • If you haven't already, reboot it
            • Check the gateway settings via Configure - Management Gateway