4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 5, 2013 5:12 AM by JulianWigman

How to deal with Service Requests

Rookie

Hi There,

Major Newbie here.

Currently we are using Service desk 7.3, but we are only utilising Incident Management. We treat all emails from end users to the Service Desk as incidents regardless whether they are Service Requests or Incidents.

We are moving towards v7.5 soon and are looking at dealing with our service requests 'properly' with a view to eventually incorporate self service and service catalogue.

We would need the ability to change an incident to a request and vice versa.

I would like some advice of what is the most simple way to deal with service requests. Do you use a separate process?, would just two high level categories suffice?

Apologies for the newbie style!

Many Thanks

• 1. Re: How to deal with Service Requests
          elizabethcombrink Employee

Welcome with your not so newbie question at all!!

You can not turn a item in your change module into and item in your indicent module into a item into your request module. You can however create a new change from an incident and copy the information over.  This means that you then end up with a new reference, and the Change and the Incident are linked.

How I dealt with this was to use 2 domains - the Change Managemetn and Incident Management modules in Landesk.  Change to raise change requests - and sometimes these are raised from within an Incident  by using the Create Change Request action.  This works for me because in my head an incident is something that is broken, and the change needs to be done / created to fix whatever is broken, so that works for me.

I use Incident Management module in landesk to raise all tickets coming in through the Service Desk - in my case that would be incidents as well as service requests.  I differentiate between them based on categorisation. Each category is either a Service Request or an Incident ticket (this also drives the Service Level Matrix).