1 Reply Latest reply on Feb 13, 2013 12:23 AM by Catalysttgj

My MGT wants a report to see what patches were pushed and how many were sucessfull and how many not and to which servers

Rookie

my mgt wants a couple of reports.

1. what patches were sucessfull and to what servers.

2. what patches were NOT sucessfull during the push.

Is this possible as I am new to LanDesk and need help.

thanks

Steven

• 1. Re: My MGT wants a report to see what patches were pushed and how many were sucessfull and how many not and to which servers
          Catalysttgj Expert

The simple answer is yes, and yes, but the exactly how you get there is going to be a matter of experience. Unfortunately, this is one of the more sophisticated types of things to want to pull out of landesk. There are many sections in the inventory that cover patches, and you can write ldms queries to work with this information. You can create output columns of info that can include the server's name, as well as the patch name, and its status. You will likely need to keep item 1 and 2 separate. It would be very complex to try and combine those. Additionally, with as many patches that exist, expect a VERY long report depending on the device count that you're working with. Multiply the total number of patches that exist in your system times the number of devices and that could be the number of rows in your report! Probably will be less, but you can see where this could get ugly fast. Sometimes MGMT doesn't really know what they are asking for, but we all know how that turns out. At any rate, there are items to tell you success of a patch installation, its status, many other things. Just look through the inventory of a machine at the items that mention patch or security, and you'll be in the right places.

For someone new to it all, i'd suggest you start with the builtin reports, and also work with the builtin features that exist in the console.