1 2 Previous Next 15 Replies Latest reply on Mar 6, 2013 8:28 AM by Frank Wils

Can't get the computer name correctly under OSD using provisioning

Rookie

I desperately need a hand. I am a newbie to landesk.

I have been testing our Win7 iMages deploying it using provisioning but somehow I can't get the computer name correctly. All our PXE reps are woriking and the images were deployed correctly on the client except that it creates its own computer name.

We wanted to have the computer name as the dell service tag.

note that these PC's are not yet in the inventory database, these are new PCs that we wanted to have windows 7 on it. Usually we add it to bare metal server folder under configuration and we set the device name as the service tag with the mac address as the identifier.

We also use unattend.xml script with the computername as a vairiable designated as %ldHostname% and under public template we set the ldHostname as a database with replacament value of "Computer"."Device name"

For the life of me this is not working!!!!!! I have been working on these for 4 days, searching the community and can get an answer.

I can confirm that the variables are picking up the correct service tag (computername) as I had manually tried the syntax below

C:\Windows\System32\sysprep\sysprep.exe /oobe /generalize /reboot with the unattended.xml file copied on root drive c: and it will set the computername correctly.

However, when using provisioning on landesk it does not apply the inject script unattended.xml file.

we are on LD MGT Console 9 SP3.

has anyone came across this issue? or is it just me? Is the Landesk ver 9 SP3 broke?

can anyone advice on where to start?

Thanks in advance

• 1. Re: Can't get the computer name correctly under OSD using provisioning
          MrGadget Expert

Johnj, your unattend has %ldhostname% which gives the name the unregistered miniscan name from Landesk as LDmacadress.