7 Replies Latest reply on May 9, 2008 4:21 AM by trent

Help with Intel SATA Driver

Apprentice

Hi

Im new to LANDesk and this is my first attempt at driver injection. I am trying to inject the Intel SATA driver for HP 6710b Notebook.

After a couple of days trying I have been told by support that it is how the intel matrix driver is setup and it is not PE friendly.

Does anybody know where to find the driver outside of the intel matrix. I am looking for the Intel 82801HEM/HBM SATA AHCI Controller Driver. Hardware ID  PCCCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2829&CC_0106.

Or, can you hack the txtsetup.oem to remove the reference to disk1 and just refer directly to the .inf files? Attached is the txtsetup.oem.

Thanks in advance

• 1. Re: Help with Intel SATA Driver
          phoffmann SupportEmployee

Well - "normally" you can try to download the respective chipset-driver from Intel and just go with that - normally that works.

However, that said, HP and ex-Compaq tend to change quite a bit of their OEM'ed stuff, so I would suggest sticking to their driver. If they do not provide a driver that works with WinPE 1.1 (which we currently use) you're in a bit of trouble. We're working on supporting WinPE 2.0 but that's not a small thing.

What you CAN do - as an alternative to adding the S-ATA driver - is to go into the BIOS and check if your SATA settings include a "LEGACY" or "COMPATIBILITY" mode for your disk-controller. If they do, use that - then you won't need the driver to address the drives - usually the most preferable of scenarios. Lenovo's and other vendors usually have this ... with HP I think it's down to individual models, so you may or may not be in luck.

Paul Hoffmann

LANDesk EMEA Technical Lead.

• 2. Re: Help with Intel SATA Driver
            Apprentice

Hi Ryan,

I've the same problem on 6720s model.

I asked help to my Microsoft and Intel contacts with no success.

At the moment the only solution is to setup your controller in native mode.

HTH

Jary Busato