4 Replies Latest reply on May 16, 2008 2:18 AM by phoffmann

PXE Deploy Questions

Hi I am new to LANDesk and have a couple of questions after my first few attempts at imaging.

1. After I have sysprepped I auto install the image (great!) except, we have purchased antivirus compoent and I get a more generic install of the agent. How do i make the agent my 'custom' agent I have built? Is it just a matter of setting my 'csutom agent' as the default in agent config (which i just realised it isnt).

2. Is there a way to pull the previous name from the computer and reuse it?

3. Is there some sort of manager console where I can see how my deployment is going? Like a status, how many percent etc. I deploy labs so I need some sort of place to manage this.

4. Right now I am using PXE and in WIn PE selecting the job to run etc. How do i automate the process so the client just grabs the right image and loads it?

5. Lucky Last - How do i 'post script' some jobs, like extra software etc. Or do i have to use provisioning to do this?

Thankyou in advance for helping this newbie.

• 1. Re: PXE Deploy Questions
          phoffmann SupportEmployee

OK - crash course in OSD it is then...

Re #1 - Installing the agent (and a specific one at that)

Yes, you can. Specifically, look in the SYSPREP-file for the "WSCFG32" commandline. WSCFG32 is the executable to install the LANDesk agent. If you do an "Advanced Edit" of your OSD script, it will open the LANDesk-script itself as well as your SYSPREP-file (which we'd inject into the image).

Now, "just" running WSCFG32 will always install the default agent configuration. So you can change your intended agent configuration to be the default.

Alternatively, you can point to a specific agent configuration by using the "/c=NAME" parameter. For instance, let's imagine I have a Configuration called "Bobs Bar and Grill", then the command-line would look something like this:

WSCFG32.EXE /F /C="Bobs Bar and Grill.ini"