4 Replies Latest reply on May 19, 2008 3:09 AM by phoffmann

Updating a captured WinPE image?

Okay so I'm new to LANDesk and within past two days I've learned how to capture an image using PXE. Now I'm wondering if there is a way to update that image that I've captured for example, the image that I captured didn't have microsoft SP3 and other microsoft/software updates. So if I restore it on other machines they wont have those patches as well! So does anyone know how to achive that? Is provisioning gonna work? Or there are other work arounds?

• 1. Re: Updating a captured WinPE image?

1. For Software,Driver and also massive Service Pack's you could use Provisioning, that is very flexible to handle.

Best Known Method for Provisioning-Unanttanded Install LD88.pdf

2. For the patch deployment you could use Patchmanager with auto-repair function after you deployed the Image to the machines.

Best Known Methods Security and Patch Manager

You could archive that also with the normal Os deployment for example with a Batch file which will install your software after the image process is done but I prefer provisioning to do that. The advantage is that you can easily change your template and that save your time in the end.

Hope that helpfull

• 2. Re: Updating a captured WinPE image?

Thanks Gregor. The thing I don't understand is how does proviosioning will help me update my images? Do I update the templetes with lets says windows update/software updates and then deploy them? Or how does it achieve that task.

• 3. Re: Updating a captured WinPE image?

Hello Jassim,