2 Replies Latest reply on Oct 31, 2013 8:51 AM by jjanoski

Landesk error codes list with explanations?

Rookie

Hello everyone,

I have a question. I am new to supporting Landesk for my IT department, so please bear with me if I am asking what may seem to be a question with an obvious answer. We are on version 9.0 SP3. I have searched around the web and these forums to try and find a concise list of Landesk error codes with explanations. I have managed to ifnd error code lists, but none of them include detailed explanations of what the codes indicate or what to troubleshoot. Some error codes I can find articles on, but I encounter a lot of different error codes when deploying software, and sometimes the codes can vary greatly.

For example, we have been deploying a batch file to machines, and over 700 machines have received it succesfully, but we have a handful of machines that don't receive it for some reason and all the machines receive very different error codes. I'd like a way to easily look up these codes and know where to start my troubleshooting. Does this sort of code database or document exist? If not, do you have any recommendations of what documents to start with when it comes to software and patch deployment errors? Is it just better to look at log files, and if so is there a document that explains how to interpret log file errors? I guess I find the amount of various errors that Landesk produces to be overwhelming at times and would like to find an easy way to decipher these errors.

Thank you for any help you can provide this rookie.

Josh

• 1. Re: Landesk error codes list with explanations?
          MarXtar ITSMMVPGroup

Make sure you aren't just looking at the error code shown in the scheduled task chart, make sure you find the machine affected and see if there are any descriptions for the error. Often an errorcode has been translated.