10 Replies Latest reply on Apr 16, 2015 7:26 AM by Kenyon

Help me understand Multicasting

GaryH Apprentice

One of these days maybe I wont have to say this . . . . I'm pretty new to Landesk.  I have deployed new agent on a domain of about 1000 computers. I have also started software distriribution and begun managing patch management.

Multicast still confises me a bit.  I remeber a few years back and I set up a computer and somone ELSE remoted in and set up IIS to turn that computer into a peer repository (still unfamiliar with all the terms - yes I am devouring the manaual.).  Fast forward two years and a different netowrk with Landesk 9.5.

Without anything but a core server and many clients that have no additional settings other than current agent installed and running normally,spread across many subnets, how does multicast work. If I deply a msi software package acriss the entire domain, will the first few machines on any subnet that receive the distribution then begin to act as repositories for peers on the same submet?  This happens without any additional configuration?

Now, what about TARGETED multicasting?  Is this where I "seed" the network with the package on a few machines on every subnet and then, once in place, push out the MSI to everyone?  Is the different between this targeted approach and just setting multicasting on a package without any TARGETING simply that I am controling the placement and WAN to LAN switch over so to speak and it is much more controlled whereas multitasking wthout any such seeding is more of a shotgun blast and let LANDesk sort it out from there?

Amd what's the differenct between this and what this person was attempting to do a couple years ago.  I suspect this was trying to set up a DISTRIBUTION server.   I understand the concept of distribution servers and that I can have different agents look to different servers. But i need to understand multicast strategy better.

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Help me understand Multicasting