3 Replies Latest reply on Jun 3, 2008 1:01 PM by keos

Inventory (Location of Items)

Apprentice

Hi:

I'm a bit confused with LDMS 8.8 with regard to the way it organize devices.  In previous version I was able to create sub group under "Network View -->  Devices --> All Devices".  Once the groups are created I would move devices into those subgroup.  It actually doesn't move devices but simply copies the devices into the subgroup.

I work in a school board and devices move from locations all the time, keeping track of physical assets has become difficult with LANDesk.  I'll explain our process so it's easier to understand:

1. machine is not working

2. replace the machine

3. defective machine is brought to the office and serviced (imaged, but not turned on)

4. machine sits in warehouse until needed (this could be days to weeks to months)

5. eventuly machine is taken out and set at a school (any school)

I have not gotten a clear answer from people with regard to inventory.  Do they keep records or do they simply delete the records?

If I wanted to keep the record, I need to create a location for that record which is why I wanted to create a subgroup under "all devices" called warehouse and then move the device into that. 

In 8.8 that feature has been removed, instead a new group is created called "Public Devices".  The only problem with this is only Administrator (privileges) have the ability to modify this.  Normal users have read only access.  If this is public devices why can't normal user modify it?  Is there a way to get around this without granting every user Administrator privileges?  Or am I approaching this wrong?

Thank you.

• 1. Re: Inventory (Location of Items)
          Employee

This is a state management problem, and it is being worked on for a future product.

In the meantime,  you can delete the record, or you can flag the record. See this page for flagging option: http://www.droppedpackets.org/misc/external-unmodeled-data/