3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 31, 2014 7:52 AM by CRB

Importing users using nested groups

blwallace Apprentice

I am new to Service Desk.  We are setting up our lab and I'm having a problem with importing analysts.  Our Active Directory implementation uses nested groups to identify users.  We have defined user roles in our AD (user roles are groups).  A user can be a member of only one role.  Multiple users can share the same role.  User roles are then members of an application role (application roles are groups).  An application role may be email, or file services, etc.  An application role may contain multple user roles.  No user is directly a member of an application role - only a user role can be members of an application role.

I'm trying to create a connector, either Active Directory or LDAP that will pull in analysts using this type of nested grouping.  However, I'm not understanding the best way to import users which are members of a nested group heirarchy.  Hopefully someone can point the way.

My current effort is using an AD connector as outlined here http://community.landesk.com/support/docs/DOC-4369

My current analyst is:

cn=bart,ou=users,ou=groups,ou=lab,dc=company,dc=us

My user role (group) is:

cn=uit_administrator,ou=Information_Technology,ou=UserRoles,ou=groups,ou=lab,dc=company,dc=us

My user role is a member of application role (group):

cn=app_hd_analyst,ou=ApplicationRoles,ou=groups,ou=lab,dc=company,dc=us

I've set my AD connector type, hdAnalyst, with a custom LDAP filter of:

(memberof=cn=app_hd_analyst,ou=ApplicationRoles,ou=groups,ou=lab,dc=msrslab,dc=us)

When I run a query to test, I get nothing in return. 

I reconfigure my hdAnalyst connector with this LDAP filter:

(memberof=cn=uit_administrator,ou=Information_Technology,ou=UserRoles,ou=groups,ou=lab,dc=msrslab,dc=us)

When I run a query to test, I get a current list members of this group.

I run an ldapsearch command from my Linux workstation to test my filter: