4 Replies Latest reply on Dec 2, 2014 2:20 PM by Miketedeschi

Many Business Processes (1000's attributes) against Single Lifecycle with Dynamic Windows

Apprentice

I am just starting out on the road of creating Service Requests to handle many different business processes in self service on service desk 7.7.1.

LANDesk created a generic service request process intended to handle all standard requests - currently there are over 100 business requirements in the pipeline with more to come.

The suggested approach from LANDesk is to have a single window linked to the generic lifecycle and use a window calculation to create a dynamic window with the relevant attributes displayed and unused ones hidden.  Each business process could require 30 attributes which means that I am looking at over 3000 attributes on the window being controlled by a single window calculation.

I am only working on a single business process at the moment till I figure out how to get this done. This process is for Change to Terms and Conditions of Employment which is sub divided into 7 categories

• Change Grade or Job Title
      • Change Location
      • Change to Job Share
      • Change Working Hours or Weeks
      • Extend fixed term appointment
      • Make Fixed Term Appointment Permanent
      • Soulbury Only: SPA points

The window has a number of common fields required to match and drive the lifecycle e.g. user details, managers for approval, request status. Each activity has its own group box with the relevant attributes within it. To help put into context I have included these screen dumps.

• TCEDesignView.png the design console view displaying all attributes
      • CGTSelected.png a web view with the Change Required trigger field set to Change Grade or Job Title and so the entry fields for those attributes are displayed in the matching group box.

There are a couple of minor issues readily apparent

• window layout - the web grid has expanded the left hand column