11 Replies Latest reply on Jul 7, 2008 3:13 PM by cambrown28

Installation of Drivers using a HII

Apprentice

Hi all

Please be gentle as I am inexperienced in imaging and this is my first attempt at an HII.

LDMS 8.8 with all rollups applied.

I followed the documentation HII-WinPE.pdf from the droppeDPackets.org site (very nice document by the way, easy to read and understand).

The driver folder and files are copied down to the PC into C:\drivers

The driver locations are added to HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\DevicePath

However the drivers are not automatically installed and the devices are still shown with the ? in Device Manager in Windows.

The only thing I did not do according to the document is create a sysprep.inf template file and add it to my deployment script. Could this be the problem? If so, could someone guide me on what needs to be included in the sysprep.inf template file or post an example of one.

Other than that, any ideas on why the drivers are not being installed?

Attached is the log from the image deployment.

Cam

• 1. Re: Installation of Drivers using a HII
          bhadzik Apprentice

Cambrown,

First check if they are the right drivers. If you go to the device manager, and point to one of the driver directories eg: c:\drivers\video, Does it find it and automaticly install the driver? That will tell you if it is sysprep problem, or a driver issue.

You are not required to import a sysprep.inf beforehand, but you can still edit the sysprep template when you right click on the script and do an advanced edit. Maybe for good measure put the driver paths in oempnpdrivers, just to test it out.

• 2. Re: Installation of Drivers using a HII
            Apprentice

Hi bhadzik

Sorry, I wrote my message in a hurry and left that part out.