This behavior is normal behavior. When you provision a system it will create a task for you. When the task is created either by you or when the system starts provisioning a "locked' copy is created. You can't modify this copy and it does it so that nothing is changed during provisioning. (That would cause big problems.) Best practices is to get you template setup and tested. Then create a task and then schedule future tasks from that locked template. This will prevent lots of locked templates from being created.
If you are on 9.6 SP1 you will see less of these as they made changes to help manage the locked templates.