5 Replies Latest reply on May 11, 2015 5:10 PM by dstax

Landesk Development Server Mail Service Won't Start

Rookie

Hi Guys,

I'm pretty new at Landesk so give me a break if I use the incorrect terms.

I have a development and a production server that I have inherited from the previous service desk officer. I want to test some new mail mappings and such in my development server before passing them across to production. However the Service Desk Mail Manager service is not listed in my windows services. Is their anything I need to do to start the service in my development server or is this by design?

• 1. Re: Landesk Development Server Mail Service Won't Start
          gjames Apprentice

You will need to use the configuration center to add the email services.

Our development server also does not have email services and this is by design. When LANDesk came onsite to implement it was advised we do not install the mail services for development.  This way there is ZERO chance of our dev environment processing emails when we don't want it to. Imagine a day when you import your production database into your dev environment so that you can test with current data. If your dev environment had email services running then you could end up in a situation with both production and dev environments processing mail. This could be a bad situation.

• 2. Re: Landesk Development Server Mail Service Won't Start
            dmshimself ITSMMVPGroup

So that begs the question - how do you test emails?  It needs some care, but I think the advice offered was not totally sound.  Have the mail services disabled for sure and have a script run when you refresh TEST to set the mail credentials to be a specific email address, run queries to clear down the mail queue and all will be well.  It takes a bit of extra effort, but it really allows you to see what an email will look like when it pops out into the client.