9 Replies Latest reply on Aug 21, 2015 5:11 AM by nito

How do i include/exclude groups with computers in queries?

jhedelin Apprentice

Im new to Landesk Management Suite, but i have worked with SCCM and Altiris for many years.

I have created some groups in Network view and added computers.

How can i add those groups in queries?

I'm used to work with collections/filters in SCCM/Altiris, doesnt Landesk have the same structure?

• 1. Re: How do i include/exclude groups with computers in queries?
          Apprentice

Hi,

LANDESK works a little bit different here.

As far as I know you can not exclude computer groups from your query by default. If you want to achieve this goal you have to excluded computers by an inventory attribute inside the query.

But you can limit the query result to devices that are in one or more groups.

In order to do so, create a new query and clikc on "Filters", now you can filter the results by one or more static groups.

Capture6.JPG

Hope this helps you

In addition if you have all your devices sorted in 3 groups called A, B and C. And you want to exclude Group B. Just create a query that filters on Group A and Group C.

• 2. Re: How do i include/exclude groups with computers in queries?
            jhedelin Apprentice

Ok, im still confused.

Say i have a group named (Install Flash Player) and its deployed to a scheduled task.

I can add computers to this group and it will be installed, right?

But if i have _another_ group of computers that i want i INCLUDE in the (Install Flash player) group, how do i include them?

• 3. Re: How do i include/exclude groups with computers in queries?
              Apprentice

Yes the added computers will install Flash player if the task is a policy. The group will be resolved on task start and while the task is active on a regular configurable value. (Configure=> Services => Scheduler => Interval between query evaluations)