7 Replies Latest reply on Sep 10, 2015 9:07 AM by MikeForg

PXE - Template as boot option

MikeForg Apprentice

Hi guys,

I'm new to Landesk and discovering the fonctions...

My situation :

We work with LDMS 9.6, and at the moment we are setting up provisioning. We got some templates working that do what we want. Now we want to take it a step further and use PXE.

I deployed PXE representatives to all of our subsidiaries. I got the PXE boot server going, so my machine comes up with the F8 menu.

Here I have 2 options :

Local Boot

WinPE Provisioning

It then boots up WinPE and I have to enter my domain, user name and password. Only then I can choose from my templates.

What I am looking for :

I would like to have my templates showing up in the F8 menu without the need to enter any credentials to whatever client does a PXE boot

My thoughts so far :

I understand that by going through the Bare Metal server you can attribute a certain template to a certain machine or even a list of machines. But this doesn't give me a choice

Disconnected templates are not an option, as I want to propose a couple of templates, and this without the need of a USB key

I did qite a bit of searching on this forum, I found many interesting and useful tits and bits, but nothing that could help me any further...

It would be great if someone could me !

• 1. Re: PXE - Template as boot option
          Apprentice

I don't think the product can support this currently. Also that boot menu is limited a certain number of choices in the past i think it was 18. Not sure how many options you were wanting to select from but I know we came across some systems that won't boot if PXE boot menu had more than 6 or 7 items. But I think the main obsticle you have is authenticating with LDMS to find out if the user has access to the device in order to start a provisioing task.

• 2. Re: PXE - Template as boot option
            MikeForg Apprentice

Thanks for your answer.