4 Replies Latest reply on Aug 21, 2008 6:19 AM by eric

Where can I find information on adding information to inventory?

I'm pretty new with landesk and I've been tasked with running reports on the systems.  I can see a lot of information about machines but sometimes i'd like to see more.  I could list the things I want to see but there must be a something i can use to add additional information.  If i then see items that aren't collected i can ask specifically about them.

• 1. Re: Where can I find information on adding information to inventory?
          MarXtar ITSMMVPGroup

There are a lot of ways you could add information into the database. Simplest is to use the custom registry collection keys you set in the ldappl3.template (see other posts for examples on how to do this). If you are looking to add lots of different things, then take a look at http://www.droppedpackets.org/ this has lots of tips and tricks plus some great utilities such as ldms_client which allows collection of a list of commonly requested items.

If you are looking for information from other datasources, then maybe you should take a look at Managed Planet's Data translation Services (DTS). This can do a lot but it is chargeable.

Of course, you could also look at our Power State Notifier if you want to report on the powered on/off status of your systems at particular times of the day or their logged in status. This is a free utility and you can take a look here for more info - http://www.marxtar.com/products/PowerStateNotifier/LANDesk_PowerStateNotifierLite.htm

Be careful though, anything that changes the database could cause issues, so if you are new to this but you have an experienced LANDesk Admin then speak to them about these before you try to do something that could potentially do as much harm as good.

Mark Star - MarXtar LANDesk Enhancements

Home of Power State Notifier & Wake-On-WAN for LANDesk

• 2. Re: Where can I find information on adding information to inventory?