1 Reply Latest reply on Nov 25, 2015 9:45 AM by JoeDrwiega

Cloning a system disk partition with landesk

Rookie

Hi all,

I have a question that (maybe) could be a case study .

Please consider that I'm really a noob with landesk and "I was thrown into the fray" by taking charge of a work begun by others

INTRODUCTION

I have a large number of clients (more than 100 but the number will grow) installed in many agencies, used to display promotional video and messages. One PC per agency. So very easy configuration: OS + Antivirus + Landesk + Dedicated Video software. Each agency has it's own subnet portion. All the subnet are, of course, reacheable by Landesk core.

Let's say that the estate is compound at the 80% by machines with same hardware and software configuration (let's call it hw configuration 1). Then for a 20% I have a second hardware (and very similar software) configuration.

In the first case I have Windows 7 32bit while in the second case I have Windows 7 64bit.

In the next future all the new installation and the change of faulty pc will be made using a third hardware configuration.

NEEDS

What I need to do is divided in 2 steps.

STEP1

I want to normalize all the PC partitions of the existing machines. A template draft has already been created. The template will align all the clients so that they'll have a C: partition for the system and a R: partition for recovery

Then I'd like, via landesk, to cloning the system partition C: on recovery partition R:

Then i'd like to have the machines configured in a way that in case of problem i can call the agency and say them "ok, please reboot the machine, then press the key key" and then the system will be restored from recovery. Would be great to have also the possibility to run the recovery remotely.

STEP2