1 Reply Latest reply on May 4, 2017 10:28 AM by Tanner Lindsay

Deploying Office 365 Click-to-Run applications as a software distribution package

eric.willard Rookie

My company uses Office 365 and I had a hell of a time finding any information on how to deploy Project and Visio to existing clients in an effort to move the company away from a mixed installer environment. I couldn't find any information on how to do it, in fact, so I figured it out through trial and error and I thought I'd share my findings. The steps outlined below worked for me. There may be a better way to accomplish the task, and there may be an easier way, but this worked for me. I am posting my steps here in attempt to encourage discussion and maybe help out some people who ran into a similar problem. Do your own testing on this though, and do so at your own risk! I am fairly new to Landesk so others may have a better way of deploying these packages. Keep in mind that if you'll need to license end users for the 365 software in question if you want any of this to work properly. Anyway, here goes.

Installing Microsoft Office 365 Click-To-Run Using The Office Deployment Tool

The section immediately below will outline how to include Office 365 Pro Plus as part of a corporate image. The section following that will outline how to deploy additional Office 365 Click-To-Run applications (think Visio and Project) as deployment packages in Landesk.

Deployment of Office 365Pro Plus begins with the Office Deployment Tool. The ODT can be downloaded here. There is a version of the ODT for Office 2013 and a different one for Office 2016. This article focuses on Office 2013. The ODT is used to download, customize, and install Office 365 Click-To-Run applications as specified by an XML file that you customize to suit the needs of your business.