I've decided not to remove the group now but when I add a shortcut I and publish it to a support group, the support group members can't see the shortcut.
any ideas please?
You probably need to recycle the application pool for that app at a quiet time
Also received this error message when deleting a Self Service shortcut group (SD 7.8.2).
I had to remove the Users/Roles/Groups form the 'Publish Shortcut Groups' section of Shortcut Manager this shortcut was already published to and then deleting it worked fine.