2 Replies Latest reply on Jun 24, 2016 11:04 AM by tpratt

Create new query using SQL

Apprentice

I am new to LDMS/ALM and want to know if it is possible for me to create a new query within LDMS using raw SQL as opposed to using the query builder within the tool. Can somebody please help me find a way? This would prove far more useful for me than the built in query builder.

Thanks.

• 1. Re: Create new query using SQL
          phoffmann SupportEmployee

Hello there & welcome to the LANDesk family .

The quick answer to your question is "Yes / No" depending on the detail.

So - you *CAN* use "full on SQL statements" - but you need to go through a report for it (as the report tool allows you to do that as data sources). If you want/need to do really complicated stuff, then a custom report would be the way to do so.

The Console stuff otherwise won't allow you to do SQL-y things directly (which I'm principally a big proponent of from a security point of view). What is it you're trying to do ultimately (maybe we can help) ?

The LD Query tool is (intentionally) a "SQL light" type approach, so that people can query for stuff with little / minimal understanding of the world of SQL.

===========

Couple of tips to help you out / speed you along:

- How to find and query Custom Data via SQL

- HOW TO: Hacking LANDesk Queries

The latter article is mainly useful as it shows a neat little trick - the QUERY table (where we store your LD queries) has a useful column called "QUERYSQL" where we give you SQL for "the LD query you've written". That is a *GREAT* way to locate any data you're keen on.

Just do a simple query around the inventory attribute you care about (1 line for the easiest) & save the query & check out the QUERYSQL for that query ... you see table names & data columns access. That can make life a LOT easier.

Hope that helps a bit .

Other stuff that may be useful to jump-start your stuff:

- Getting Started with the MBSDK (Example Scripts Included)