3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 30, 2016 4:43 PM by phoffmann

Selecting Definitions for a Repair Group

Apprentice

When creating a repair group for a group of Windows computers, and selecting the definitions to add to that group, can anyone guide me or give me some pointers or suggestions as to the best way to go about this?  I am somewhat new to LANDesk, so please forgive me if this question seems stupid.

For example, I am setting up a repair group for some Windows 7 machines with Adobe Acrobat, Java, Flash Player and Chrome, among others.  They have Office 2013, so I don't want to add hundreds of Office 2003/2007/2010/2016 patches.  One option is to simply add all the available definitions, but then I am just asking for a failed task, right?  So if I want to add only the necessary definitions, (patches and updates) to the group, I find myself spending an incredible amount of time going through all these definitions and trying to select the ones (that I think we need).  There has got to be a better way.  I have tried sorting the definitions on the date published, and the vendor, and that helps, but it is still very time-consuming.  I appreciate any suggestions very, very much!

Best,

Sam S.

P.S. I did just now have an epiphany of sorts, and feel pretty dumb for not thinking of it sooner.  I used "2012 R2" for a search term and applied it on all columns, and it returned a lot of definitions that all looked appropriate for this repair task, so I will go with that and see how it goes. 

• 1. Re: Selecting Definitions for a Repair Group
          phoffmann SupportEmployee

So there's a bunch of stuff here - and yes, we do "kill you with kindness" from the information side of things, but you can do a bunch of stuff to automate or make your life easier.

First up - what version of LANDesk are you on? If you're on 2016 you can automate a heck of a lot with roll-out projects. Conveniently, we have videos & articles on that here: