2 Replies Latest reply on Sep 23, 2016 8:52 AM by Guy_Walton

Script to update Network Logins

Brian.Subia Rookie

I am fairly new to Service Desk and SQL so I’m looking for help.

I work or a large school district and I am running into an issue that I’m hoping can be helped with a script.  On average we have about 5-7 users a month who change names. Our system has been configured so that on initial import of a user the Network Login is set based on the LoginID we have imported. This works great until the name change.

I have found the document describing how to set Logins automatically (DOC-4602) but it’s not clear if this would also update the Logins. Has anyone been able to create or would be able to point me in a direction to create a script that would compare the Network Login to the LoginID we have imported for our users and update the Network Login if they are different?

• 1. Re: Script to update Network Logins
          andreas.lindner Expert

Hi Brian,

if you're using the script from the DOC-4602, then everything should be fine. The script is aware of name changes (the "Name" in Service Desk is the login name) and thus it should set all network logins in the correct way. So for everything to work in order, you have to ensure that:

1. Either users are being imported regularly OR that all name changes also happen in Service Desk. The script uses the attribute Name (tps_name) from the user to build the network login.
          2. The sp_SetNetworkLogin es being executed regularly (preferably daily over night). To do so, use a Maintenance Plan on your SQL Server and let the SQL Server run this stored procedure ("exec sp_SetNetworkLogin").

So if you're running both actions regularly, then all network logins should match the users.