4 Replies Latest reply on Dec 16, 2016 1:31 AM by TomWhi

PowerShell cmdlets Installation

TomWhi Rookie

Hi,

I am new to the AppSense products so forgive me if I use any wrong terms.

I have an installation of EM 8.6, AM 8.9 and MC 8.7 in our environment. I would like to be able to PowerShell query stuff out (anything about computers, their deployment group memberships etc.) and move computers between deployment groups.

The problem I have is that I cannot find the PS cmdlet's installed on any of the servers, when I run the command Get-Module -Name AppSense* | Format-List it doesn't output anything - making me wonder if they are not installed.

Please can anyone help me understand if they are installed by default; and if so where they are located or what command I can use to import them.

TomWhi

• 1. Re: PowerShell cmdlets Installation
          Roger1 Apprentice

Check out this blog from Matt Walsh for some Management Center stuff - It might help answer your questions.  The module import requires that the Management Center Console be installed. I actually run the PowerShell commands from my PC rather than the server.  On a side note, I found I needed to have PowerShell 3.0 installed on the server to use the server specific modules included with AppSense (for example: to setup a failover partner for AMC).  The  API guides have a lot of information but are pretty cryptic for the less experienced (me).  However, Matt's blog is very easy to follow. 

Blog post:

AppSense Management Server Web Services API Overview | AppSense Blog

A forum post I participated in that helped me find out how to move items: 

AppSense Management Server API

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: PowerShell cmdlets Installation
            TomWhi Rookie

Thanks for the fast response roger! Both of those links are really helpful and the tip about PSv3.