4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 31, 2017 3:36 AM by phoffmann

Managing NAT'd clients

Rookie

In our environment we have a wireless network that uses a different subnet from our wired network.  By design, traffic from the wired network is not routed to the wireless network, it is NAT'd dynamically.  However as is typical with a Windows machine, it registers its address with DNS so the machine's DNS record reflects the address on the unreachable subnet.  This complicated communicating with the wireless clients in that I have had to log into a router and look up the NAT translation for a wireless client to get a reachable IP address.

I'm new to LANDesk, but this kind of configuration seems to have some hiccups.  I have a wireless client with the agent installed and presumably working (it has sent multiple inventories to the core server), and when I remove it from the wired network and connect to the wireless network, it takes several minutes but the core server eventually learns the reachable NAT'd address for the client (once the agent checks in with the server) and updates the address for that computer in the devices list.  After this has happened, the remote control function in the Management Console seems to correctly invoke the NAT'd address, but the ping function does not use the correct address and instead resolves the address from the computer on which the Console is running (my computer).  My computer does not know the NAT'd address so it gets the unreachable address in DNS.  I would suspect this is not the intended behavior for the Console, should it use the agent's recorded IP address for all functions instead of using different resolution methods for different features?