5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 30, 2017 11:39 PM by Robin Rowe

Local Folder in a TrueCrypt Container

detlefp Rookie

Hi,

I'm fairly new to the File Director product so my apologies, if my question has been raised already in the past but search did not tell me about this.

I'm using the Windows Client and I would like to set the local folder for File Director inside a Truecrypt container which is mounted during system startup as well.

So my question would be:

Are there any experiences with having the local cache inside a Truecrypt Container?

Are there any things to consider before trying to setup the configuration this way?

Are there any general issues from an architectural point of view which might result from the combination of FileDirector and TrueCrypt?

One might argue that I could use Bitlocker for the entire harddisk but this is no valid option as of today. Only parts of the data should be encrypted, which TrueCrypt is being used for.

Thanks a lot for any help and feedback on this!

Detlef

• 1. Re: Local Folder in a TrueCrypt Container
          Robin Rowe SupportEmployee

Hi Detlef,

Thanks for posting your question. As you noted, bitlocker is the most prevalent encryption option, and used by many of our customers - this is transparent to File Director and there are no known interoperability issues.

I'm not personally aware of any customers currently using Truecrypt to secure File Director locations (but I may be corrected ) With regards to your architectural considerations question, File director uses the user's temporary folder (%temp%) as a staging area for things like resumable downloads, delta sync generation and conflict resolution, which may be a consideration.

I would stress that our QA team do not currently test with encryption software beyond bitlocker - as such, I'd recommend testing thoroughly in a non-production environment to ensure there are no side effects.

Kind Regards,

Robin Rowe

Ivanti Technical Support